Personal Update

I want to apologize for the lack of updates on this blog. Blogs are a dime a dozen and blogs that are abandoned after a couple of posts are even more common, so I appreciate those who have emailed me and continued to share my posts!

It has been quite a busy year for my family. My wife and I had our first child (Isaac) 8 months ago and that has been a wonderful and sanctifying experience—as those with babies and young children already know. I have also had my hands full with seminary coursework, and the Lord has been very gracious towards me by providing me with wonderful professors and giving me the energy to persevere through it. I am in the process of considering doctoral programs in theology or philosophy, so for those who have applied and in are PhD programs, your advice is much appreciated.

On a slightly different note, I have needed time away from posting to reevaluate the purpose of my writing. I was worried after I published “Christians, Be Careful What You Say On Facebook” that I would fall into a rhythm of negativity—criticizing Christians for saying things that drive me nuts. I do think that we Christians need those who will call us out when we are acting contrary to the teachings of Jesus, but I never wanted to get into the business of publishing rants, regardless of how much attention that sort of writing tends to draw. There is enough of that on the internet, and I find most of it unhelpful at best. What I always wanted to do was teach. And after a while I felt that I was no longer teaching, but simply pointing fingers and people that made me angry. I felt burdened in my own soul with the idea that I was adding to the distortion, when what I wanted to do was to add to the clarity.

That being said, my plan is to resume posting, and I look forward to future interactions with my readers. Please feel free to email with questions or prayer requests; I would love to hear from you. I hope you all have had a wonderful Christmas, and I pray that you will have a blessed New Year!

-Zack

(Thoughts? Comments? Feel free to contact me at zacklocklear@outlook.com)

3 thoughts on “Personal Update

Leave a Reply

